Skip to main content

Erlend Øye "DJ Kicks" (!K7)

With their landmark DJ Kicks series, the mighty !K7 Records has continually explored, unveiled and showcased the expansive musical worlds of some of the global dance / electronic community’s most innovative and influential talents (both established and emerging). Their latest installment has been compiled by singer / songwriter and electronic indie-pop maverick Erlend Øye. From his celebrated work with the Kings of Convenience (along with partner Eirik Glambeck) to his collaborations with fellow Norwegian natives Royksopp and his own solo material, Øye has emerged as a formidable talent renowned for his enchanting poetic lyrical narratives and imitable passionate yet delicate and restrained vocal style. His ingeniously crafted 18-track collection (which incorporates elements of house, electro-pop and experimental ambient) redefines the DJ mix moving far beyond the parameters of the traditional mixed compilation. Combining exciting entries from artists like The Rapture, Avenue D, Morgan Geist, Phoenix, Royksopp and Jurgen Paape with some of his own remixes and unreleased recordings (“Intergalactic Autobahn,” “The Black Eyes Work” and “A Place In My Heart”) alongside 6 specially recorded a cappella cover versions of songs from The Smiths (“There Is A Light That Never Goes Out”), Jane (“Fine Day”) and Bananarama (“Venus”) - cleverly layered over instrumental tracks throughout the disc - the recent turntablist creates a unique and fluid listening experience that works equally as a mixed comp and as an artist album.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Related Content