Skip to main content

dirtybird "Hatched" Volume 1


Few American labels have had as profound an impact on modern dance music in the last decade than dirtybird Records. Consistently releasing clever, quirky, bass driven tech-house, the San Francisco-based label celebrates its seventh birthday with a compilation boasting a brilliant next wave of future classics. Alongside mainstays Claude VonStroke, Christian Martin and Worthy, the release showcases newer additions to the dirtybird family, including Eats Everything, A1 Bassline, Tom Flynn, Samuel Dan, Nick Monaco, Catz n Dogz, Kill Frenzy, Breach, Soul Clap, Kingdom and Sasha Robotti.

Cuts on the 12-track compilation range from dark, old school electro with a modern twist (Catz n' Dogz fantastic “Bring Me That Water”) through near breakbeat (“That Amen Track (Breach Remix)” by DJ Cra$y betraying the label’s drum and bass roots). Quite a bit of techno and house based around re-appropriated poppy vocal samples—a nod to dirtybird’s highly accessible sensibilities. Though an impressively full spectrum of musical stylings is represented, the common thread of a unique, ghetto jackin', tough but tender, “Let's not take ourselves too seriously” sound is pervasive throughout. Similarly, while the tracks featured would all work in a set together, they are diverse and dynamic enough to not all be “peak-hour” bangers. There is a refreshing subtlety and thoughtfulness in the selection. If this release is any indication, the future looks terrifically bright for dirtybird!

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Hatched will be released as a full compilation on February 29 and for the DJs it'll be available as three separate EPs: Part 1 being released on Jan 11; Part 2 on Jan 25; Part 3 on Feb 8.

Related Content