Skip to main content

Review: Anjunadeep 04—Mixed by Jaytech & James Grant


The intoxicating sub of Anjunabeats is back with Anjunadeep 04, a two-disc compilation mixed by Australian star Jaytech and label A&R Jason Grant set to release Monday February 27. Pre order here. With the past two editions both hitting #1 in the iTunes Dance Albums Chart and the label in better health than ever before, as evidenced by a DJ Mag nomination for “Best British Record Label,” this 28-track compilation is the latest showcase of the label’s evolution as it takes you on a musical journey through the Anjunadeep sound seamlessly integrating progressive, melodic beats and deep house. With tracks from Andrew Bayer, Soundprank, Dusky and more, there’s a little something for everybody.

Matt Lange and Andrew Bayer are carrying some serious weight for Anjunadeep right now, being recognized as some of the best young producers in the game right now. That being said, it is not surprising that label A&R James Grant gives hedence to Bayer for playing the key role in achieving the desired sound of CD1; the pair collaborated with each other on a couple remixes including tracks from Above & Beyond, Full Tilt and P.O.S.

We had a clear vision for where we wanted the mix to head and Andrew really helped me realise that in this mix, says Grant.

Grant’s mix on disc one brings out the deeper, more house-influenced end of Anjunadeep’s spectrum with heavy hitting low bass grooves such as with Macro Plex’s mix of Laura Jones “Love in Me” and Vincezo “Get To Know You” that Anjunadeep has made its name with. Get in the mood for some deep house and some smooth melodies, and play out this disc to get you in a groove, while you’re driving by the beach or thinking forward to summers in Ibiza. Andrew Bayer “You” is undoubtedly one of my favorites off Grant’s mix, with an underlying dark bass beat, some high hats and jazzy elements.

Jaytech mixes disc two, taking time out from finishing his highly anticipated second artist album, exploring the more upbeat side of the label’s sound, almost representative of that of Above & Beyond’s sound minus as many vocals and as uniform of a song structure. With strong points from start to finish, Jaytech’s selection of tunes tells a story with a beginning, middle and end, culminating in with his own “Atlantic,” which can be seen as an embodiment of sound that defines this mix. Some tracks to keep an eye on are Kobana & Yane3dots “Woosh,” which has a complex bass line driven by progressive sounds laired with feel good trance, and one of my personal favorites Dirty South’s remix of Kaskade “Sorry” with an extremely unique spin on it by Jaytech. Can’t get enough of this! To transform the sounds of Kaskade and Dirty South into a format that works with Anjunadeep is truly spectacular. It’s as if Jaytech puts on this track, and then puts his own spin on it with a catapulting deep house rhythm underlying it.

Magnetic gives Anjunadeep 04 4.5/5 stars

Update. There's a new album promo ‪mix by Jaytech & James Gran‬t that was just posted on YouTube. And here it is:

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

To celebrate the upcoming release of the compilation next Monday, James Grant and Jaytech have each mixed a 15-minute mini-mix of their respective CDs that you can take a listen to here:

Jaytech's Anjunadeep 04 Mini-mix by Anjunadeep on Mixcloud

James Grant's Anjunadeep 04 Mini-mix by Anjunadeep on Mixcloud

Anjunadeep 04 Tracklist:
Disc 1: mixed By James Grant

1. Dusky "Stick By This"
2. Martin Roth "Beautiful Life"
3. Vincenzo "Get To Know You"
4. Laura Jones "Love In Me" (Maceo Plex Remix)
5. Andrew Bayer "You"
6. Paronator "No Gravity" (Tom Middleton Liquatech Mix)
7. Dusky "Lost Highway"
8. Above & Beyond "Prelude" (Andrew Bayer & James Grant Remix)
9. Full Tilt "Take Me Away" (Andrew Bayer & James Grant Remix)
10. Parker & Hanson "Afterthought" (Soundprank's Deep 04 Mix)
11. Stephen J. Kroos "Phobos"
12. P8 & Answer42 "Fragments"
13. P.O.S. "Gravity" (Andrew Bayer & James Grant Remix)
14. Andrew Bayer "Gaff’s Eulogy"

Disc 2: mixed by Jaytech
1. Answer42 "The Lemon Effect"
2. Kobana & Yane3dots "Woosh"
3. Oliver Smith "Under The Wire"
4. Solarity "Primordial"
5. Suspect 44 "Neon Feel"
6. Jaytech "Synergy"
7. Vadim Soloviev "Forma Perpetua"
8. Soundprank "Boundless Energy"
9. Jaytech "Overdrive" (PROFF Remix)
10. Joonas Hahmo "Manor"
11. Levente Márton "There's Always A Way Out"
12. Kaskade "Sorry" (Dirty South Remix)
13. Parker & Hanson "Alquimia" (Andrew Bayer Remix)
14. Jaytech "Atlantic"

Related Content