Skip to main content

Limited Edition: Vinyl Factory To Release “This Must Be The Place” Soundtrack

  • Author:
  • Updated:


To know me is to know that David Byrne’s “This Must Be The Place” is one of all time favorite tunes, which is why this caught my eye over at Fact magazine. Talking Heads rule. The Vinyl Factory is releasing a special edition soundtrack for the film of the same name.  The package is hand crafted and pressed on heavyweight gatefold vinyl and features five new songs composed by Byrne and written by Will “Bonnie Prince Billy” Oldham (aka The Pieces Of Shit) as well as iconic images from the film.The soundtrack—hand chosen and largely produced by Bryne himself, also includes songs by Gavin Friday, Jonsi & Alex and Iggy Pop, as well as several covers of “This Must Be The Place.” Pretty much a must have in my book. You can pre-order the package now—release date is April 23. I’m not sure when the film comes out in the US (it was shown at Sundance), but it is out this Friday, April 6 in the UK.

Here’s the trailer for the film. Tell me that Sean Penn isn’t doing his best Robert Smith impersonation here. Pretty spot on.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Side A
1. Gavin Friday “Lord I’m Coming”
2. The Pieces Of Shit “Lay & Love”
3. The Pieces Of Shit “Open Up”
4. Mantonvanni & His Orchestra “Charmaine”

Side B
1. Daniel Hope, Simon Mulligan “Arvo Part: Spiegel Im Spiegel”
2. Trevor Green “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)”
3. David Byrne “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) Live”

Side C
1. Julia Kent “Gardemoen”
2. Jonsi & Alex “Happiness”
3. The Pieces Of Shit “Eliza”
4. Iggy Pop “The Passenger”
5. The Pieces Of Shit “You Can Live It”

Side D
1. Brooklyn Rider “Achille’s Heel – Il Second Bounce”
2. The Pieces Of Shit “If It Falls, It Falls”
3. Gloria “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)”
4. Nuno Bruno E Le 8 Tracce “Every Single Moment In My Life Is A Weary Wait”
5. The Pieces Of Shit “The Sword Is Yours”

Related Content