Skip to main content

The Magnetic Daily: EDM Culture News—5.15.12

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Here’s the latest round up of daily EDM culture headlines that are catching our attention over here at Magnetic. Crosstown Rebels, Eddie Halliwell, Chuckie, The Squatters, Maga Bo, Nicolas Jaar, Strut, Acid House, Richard Senn and more. Get ready to “like,” “+1,” Tweet, swap and share.

New Electronic Music RSS Reader For EDM Culture Junkies

The Squatters Podcast Episode 9


It’s landed. Ninth in this stomping series includes tracks from Porter Robinson, Skrillex and Wolfgang Garter and a pretty awesome new remix from The Squatters themselves “Think It's All Over” by Paul Morrell. Subscribe here.

Toca Disco “Jump” (Original Mix)
Phonic Youth “City Lights” (Original Mix)
Dada Life “Rolling Stones T-Shirt” (Original Mix)
Tiesto & Mark Night ft. Dino “Beautiful World” (Tom Staar & Sam Young Remix)
Paul Morrell “Think It’s All Over” (The Squatters Remix)
Malante & Breakfastklub “Hymn” (Original Mix)
Skrillex & Wolfgang Gartner “The Devil's Den” (Original Mix)
Conway “Moonwalk” (J-Trick Remix)
Tommy Trash “Monkey See Monkey Do” (Original Mix)
Kosinus “Riddim” (Original Mix)
Porter Robinson “Language” (Original Mix)
Ton!c “Groundy” (Original Mix)
Flux Pavilion feat. Example “Daydreamer” (Jack Beats Remix)

New Electronic Music here: Infinity Ink EP “Infinity” For Crosstown Rebels

After a big debut on house music favorite Hot Creations this past November with the irrepressible “Games,” Infinity Ink (Ali Love and Luca C) are back with “Infinity” on Crosstown Rebels. If you like the idea of a momentous, left-of-center slice of Cosmic Garage for your summer this’ll treat you right. The 12-inch and digital version will be released June 4.


Do you want to come to an exclusive invite only Boat Party with Eddie Halliwell?

If that’s a yes—and you’re a Magnetic reader by way of Manchester—here’s your chance to bounce up and down the Manchester canal between 7.30 pm and 9.30 pm with 50 other lucky folks. The invite only VIP party with Eddie Halliwell is a pre-party to the insanely good EDM culture event that’s due to rock the dancefloors of Sankeys on June 1. To win you need to tag Eddie’s pages on your social media. Go here for more info.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

New Electronic music here. Chuckie single on Big Beat “The Numb3r5”

Chuckie dropped the second in his string of huge club-ready summer house tunes yesterday. This one features Dirty Dutch master Gregori Klosman. Have a listen and if you like what you hear you can cop a free EDM download here.

Watch this Kirin J. Callinan video because it will make you feel weird

This awesomely strange and talented mad man is coming from Australia via Terrible Records. The amazing gif-laden video (by acclaimed director Kris Moyes) states it’s NSFW but your boss won’t mind. The video marks a return for Kirin J Callinan with the brand new 7-inch single “W II W” (read: Way to War), which is taken from his forthcoming full-length album, W II W. The single will be out digitally on June 19 and on July 31 for the 7-inch vinyl. There’s also an east coast tour planned for June.

New Video From Maga Bo—Album almost here.

A little reminder that next week (May 22) is the release of Maga Bo’s new album, Quilombo do Futuro via Post World Industries. If you’re not familiar, Maga Bo was born in the United States but has been based in Rio de Janeiro since 1999. He’s performed and worked in over 40 different countries—from Delhi to Sydney, Berlin to Addis Ababa, New York City to Brasília, all the while keeping his feet (and ears) firmly planted in the sonic axis RJ/SP/BA (read: Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Salvador). In addition to working with peeps like Mulatu Astatke, Issa Bagayogo, Bollywood star Shilpa Rao, BaianaSystem as well as releasing critically acclaimed remixes for Poirier, Luisa Maita, Filastine, Blick Bassy and Bomba Estéreo, you can find his music and remixes on labels like Tru-Thoughts, Ninja Tune, Cumbancha, Dutty Artz, World Connection and many others.

Nicolas Jaar + Dave Harrington = Darkside. New Video Just dropped

The “Darkside” EP was released on Clown & Sunset last fall, a Darkside album is forthcoming, date TBA. The video was directed by Ryan Staake, one of Clown & Sunset Aesthetics resident film-makers. Staake also created the visuals for Nicolas Jaar’s live tour and Jaar’s five-hour “From Scratch” performance at Moma PS1 from earlier this year. Here’s Staake about the A1 video:

The video began with the idea of Nico and I wanting to explore South Western landscapes. The imagery of the American South West has been a shared interest of Nico and I’s since we first met, its beauty and the vastness of this space, and how humans relate to it captured the imagination of us both. The phases of the moon are used as a narrative device to show passing of time, specifically implying a narrowing window of opportunity for the characters to achieve their goal.

Strut Archive UK Acid House Essentials: Richard Sen Collects The First Wave of UK Acid on “This Ain't Chicago”

Richard Sen (Padded Cell, Bronx Dogs) is pretty much the perfect person to walk you through the sounds of UK house and acid house from 1987-1991. A hero within the EDM culture world, the well-respected DJ/producer digs deep into the heady era when UK producers were responding to the first wave of Chicago house and documents the underground clubs that first championed the music. As the early rave scene and acid house kicked in at London clubs like Shoom and Spectrum, deeper and darker house nights thrived like RIP at Clink Street, Confusion and The Jungle and in warehouse parties around East London. Manchester too adopted house music at an early stage, most famously at The Hacienda’s Nude night.

The new series by Strut (released July 10) draws on both underground house music classics and lesser-known tracks including early outings by producer Julian Jonah, A Guy Called Gerald, Trevor Fung’s Playtime Toons, Eddie Richards and Ian B’s Rio Rhythm Band and Baby Ford. The compilation also celebrates a host of excellent but short-lived UK DIY labels including Ruby Red from West Midlands, G-Force out of Essex, Rhythmbeat, Chill and Catt.

1. Bang The Party “Bang Bang You're Mine” (Full Vocal Remix)
2. Window Smashers “Free To Be”
3. Julian Jonah “Jealousy And Lies”
4. Baby Ford “Crashing”
5. Man With No Name “From Within The Mind Of My 909”
6. Rio Rhythm Band “Cuba Jakkin'”
7. Playtime Toons “Shaker Song”
8. Jail Break “Mentality”
9. Exocet “Safety Zone”
10. Return Of The Living Acid “Twin Tub”
11. CXX “The Comfort Of Strangers” (Mix By Rhythm Doctor – Richard Sen Edit)
12. Julie Stapleton “Where's The Love Gone” (Remix)
13. Rohan Delano “Inflight”

1. Sly And Lovechild “The World According To Sly & Lovechild” (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)
2. Ability II “Pressure Dub”
3. Static “Iron Orbit” (J. Saul Kane Mix)
4. M.D. Emm “1666” (Pyro-Maniac Mix)
5. Colm III “Take Me High” (Mansion Mix)
6. S.L.F. “Show Me What You Got”
7. Paul Rutherford “Get Real” (Happy House Mix)
8. Bizzare Inc “Technological”
9. US “Born In The North”
10. Annette “Dream 17”

This album features many personal favorites and the tracks were particularly inspirational to me as a DJ and clubber at the time.  -Richard Sen


Related Content