New Erol Alkan Bugged Out Mix—Listen To A Bunch Of The Tracks Here. He's Playing Hard Tonight!



I’ve only had the pleasure of seeing Erol Alkan DJ a few times, but each one has been pretty damn great. If you like your DJs educated and talented and entertaining, dig into Erol. By the look of the tracklisting for his new Bugged Out mix (released September 4 via !K7), this is right up my alley. Pretty much from the opening bass and twangy guitars on “To Our Disco Friends” by Smith N Hack followed by "Sensation" by the legendary Chicago house DJ Ron Hardy, then on into "Gridlock" by In Flagranti. That’s three decades of music in the first three songs. Guy is obviously obsessive about his crate-digger, both real world and virtual, and has a gift not many DJs have.

The set was mixed live in a couple of takes, no computerized beat matching or studio trickery. Why?

For me, that’s what DJing is about, spontaneity, mistakes, records trying to keep up with one another he says. It took just two takes, as he was nearing the end of the second, the sub bass of Spandexs The Bull shook the speaker off the mantelpiece of his music room at home and sent it crashing to the floor, leaving a deep dent in the floorboards. I just thought, it’s going so well I’m going to carry on, he laughs. I didnt want to detract from capturing that moment. That’s where—for me—the electricity lies: in the moment, not crafting something that’s perfect on a computer.

Recommended Articles

If you're going to Hard Summer on Friday, go see this guy play, not many DJs do it like him.

CD1: Bugged Out

1. Smith n Hack “To Our Disco Friends”
2. Ron Hardy “Sensation” (Obi Blanch edit)
3. In Flagranti “Gridlock”
4. Seaside Houz Boyz “From A Man's Journal”
5. Umba “Concussion”

6. Jimmy Edgar “This One's For The Children”
7. Model 500 “No UFO's” (D-Mix)
8. Unovidual & Tara Cross “Comme Je Suis” (Based in the Sling & Samo mix)
9. Agoria feat. Carl Craig & La Scalars “Speechless” (Gesaffelstein Remix)
10. T.S.O.S. “Over And Over”
11. Scuba “Never”
12. Secondo “Discombabulate”
13. Amin Peck “Girls On Me”
14. N.Y. House'n Authority “Ravenswood House”
15. Jared Wilson “Let Your Body Make Your Body”
16. Factory Floor “Two Different Ways”
17. Children Of The Night “It's A Trip” (Mike Hitman Wilson's Mix)
18. Gingy & Bordello “Body Acid” (KiNK's on Acid Remix)
19. Spandex “The Bull” (Erol Alkan Rework)
20. Kölsch “Opa”
21. Connan Mockasin “Forever Dolphin Love” (Erol Alkan Rework Version 2)

CD2: Bugged Out

1. Jan Hammer Group “Don't You Know”
2. Matthew Herbert “Leipzig”
3. Bibio “All The Flowers”
4. Michael Head “Queen Matilda”
5. Adjagas “Mun Ja Mun” (Instrumental)
6. Gorky's Zygotic Mynci “Miss Trudy”
7. Mickey Moonlight “We'll Meet Again” (Bugged In Mix)
8. The Make Up “I Am Pentagon”
9. Dibidim “Badminton Bay”
10. The Space Lady “Major Tom” (Coming Home)
11. Jai Paul “Jasmine” [Demo]
12. Margot “Voci Giaga”
13. Chromatics “A Matter Of Time”
14. Space Dimension Controller “The Love Quadrant”
15. Robert Wyatt “At Last I Am Free”
16. Walls “Gaberdine” (Nathan Fake Ambient Version)
17. Buffalo Springfield “Expecting To Fly”
18. Plush “Soaring and Boring”

Related Content