Skip to main content

Electrospective: A Celebration Of Electronic Music From 1958-2012


No doubt about it, EDM culture has a long, rich history of amazing music and acts that have paved the way for the current crop of dancefloor merrymakers. Many of electronic music’s finest moments can be found tucked away in the EMI catalog. Enter Electrospective. The project brings together the EMI Music, Mute, and Virgin catalogues, chronicling the key works of visionaries like Kraftwerk and Brian Eno as well as the ground breaking success of Depeche Mode and The Human League, the explosion of electronic dance music in the late ‘80s, and the rise of global stars like Daft Punk and The Chemical Brothers.

Electrospective: A Celebration Of Electronic Music From 1958-2012

If you’re looking to discover, or rediscover some of EDM culture’s most lauded sounds, or simply need some encouragement to delve deeper into the genre we all love, this is about as good as it gets. There’s new music to cop, in-depth interviews to read and even a dedicated radio show to tune in to.

Be on the lookout for an Electrospective compilation and remix album on October 9th. The compilation ranges from the earliest days of technological innovation at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop through to the rise of current house music superstars including David Guetta and Swedish House Mafia. Simultaneously, Electrospective: The Remixes—A Collection of Rare Electronic Mixes, breaths new life into dance staples from the likes of Daft Punk and OMD with new twists by artists like SBTRKT. Coming this fall, a series of 4 exclusive EPs will drop via Beatport.

Recommended Articles

Single Disc US Version Compilation Album Tracklisting:

1. BBC Radiophonic Workshop “Doctor Who Theme
2. Brian Eno “Here Come the Warm Jets"
3. The Human League “The Things That Dreams Are Made Of
4. Duran Duran “Planet Earth
5. Pet Shop Boys “West End Girls
6. Soul II Soul feat. Caron Wheeler “Back to Life (However Do You Want Me)
7. Daft Punk “Around the World
8. Massive Attack “Inertia Creeps
9. Air “Kelly Watch the Stars
10. St Germain “Rose Rouge
11. Radiohead “Everything in its Right Place
12. The Chemical Brothers”Star Guitar
13. Gorillaz “Dare
14. David Guetta, Joachim Garraud, Chris Willis “Love is Gone” (Fred Riester & Joachim Garrud Radio Edit Remix)
15. Swedish House Mafia “One” (Radio Edit)

Electrospective The Remixes—A Collection Of Rare Electronic Mixes Single Disc Tracklist:

1. Orchestral Manoeuvers In The Dark “Talking Loud And Clear” (Extended Version)
2. Talk Talk “It's My Life” (US Mix)
3. Grace Jones “I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You)” (The Right On Time Edit By Larry Levan)
4. Neneh Cherry “Buffalo Stance” (Kevin Saunderson's Techno Stance Remix I)
5. Inner City “Good Life” (Mayday Club Mix)
6. Soul II Soul “Back To Life” (Masters At Work House Remix)
7. Daft Punk “Around The World” (Kenlou Mix)
8. Simple Minds “Love Song” (Shredded Beatz Mix)
9. The Human League “The Sound Of The Crowd” (Extended Family Vocal Mix)
10. Goldfrapp “Strict Machine” (Ewan's Stripped Machine Remix)
11. Tinie Tempah “Pass Out” (SBTRKT Remix)

Related Content