Skip to main content

EDM News: Zeds Dead X Nina Simone, Kaskade X Astrud Gilberto, More On First Ladies Of Verve Comp


Verve Remixed, a compilation series that has EDM artists remix classic Verve jazz tracks, is set to release The First Ladies edition this July. Modern DJs and producers such as RAC, Kaskade, Bassnectar, Maya Jane Coles, Toro Y Moi, Zeds Dead, and Tokimonsta are featured, remixing original songs by Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughn, Astrid Gilberto, Nina Simone, Billie Holiday, Marlena Shaw, Dinah Washington and more. Judging by the track list, the comp seems to be all-encompassing when it comes to representing genres in EDM culture. Here are a couple of the premiers:

Billie Holiday- “My Man” (Toro Y Moi Remix)

Nina Simone – "Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood : (Zeds Dead Remix)

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Ella Fitzgerald - "Too Darn Hot" (RAC Remix)

You can check the Kaskade remix of Astrud Gilberto’s “Fly Me To The Moon” on Rolling Stone. The compilation is out July 9th via Verve Records.

Verve Remixed: The First Ladies Track Listing:
1. Ella Fitzgerald – Too Darn Hot (RAC MIX)
2. Astrud Gilberto – Fly Me To The Moon (KASKADE REMIX)
3. Sarah Vaughan – Please Mr. Brown (PONTUS WINNBERG OF MIIKE SNOW REMIX)
4. Nina Simone – Feeling Good (BASSNECTAR REMIX)
5. Marlena Shaw – Women of the Ghetto (FLUME’S JACKIN HOUSE MIX)
6. Nina Simone – Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (ZEDS DEAD REMIX)
7. Billie Holiday – My Man (TORO Y MOI REMIX)
8. Astrud Gilberto and Walter Wanderley Trio – So Nice (AZARI & III REMIX)
9. Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Jericho (C2C REMIX)
10. Nina Simone – Put A Spell On You (PRETTY LIGHTS REMIX)
11. Ella Fitzgerald – Blue Skies (MAYA JANE COLES REMIX)
12. Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto – Corcovado (TOKiMONSTA REMIX)
13. Dinah Washington – I’ve Got You Under My Skin (DJ CARNAGE AND VICTOR NIGLIO REMIX)

Follow Verve Music Group on Facebook | Twitter

Related Content