Skip to main content

Artist Spotlight: Dark Model, AKA Tatsuya Oe

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Originally from Japan and now coming to us via New York, Tatsuya Oe is an award winning music producer (also well known as electronic music master/club DJ Captain Funk) who focuses on futuristic, emotional, and edgy beat-oriented orchestral electronic music. His new project, Dark Model, does exactly that.

Released on May 16th, Oe's project is an eleven track LP that combines "traditional" instruments with heavy beats and a lot of EDM influences. String sections are blended seamlessly with cascading drums, electronic stabs, and plenty of atmospheric sections that keep the flow smooth.

The album begins with the intro, "Dance of Wrath" (Ikari No Mai), and moves well into "Fate", a track backed with a break style bit and some 8-bit retro sounds. "Close to Infinity", track four, is where Dark Model really starts to open up. The influence of classical composition comes in heavy, creating a segue into the epoch which is to come over the next songs. Other stand out tracks include "Hope Is Never Gone", "Candle in the Desert" and "I Will Return"

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

According to the press release, "The basic concept of Dark Model is to make a kind of “Instrumental Narrative” by incorporating a diverse range of musical ideas and elements which Tatsuya has achieved throughout his career." This seems to be an accurate description, as the music on Dark Model tells a story. Individually the songs are shorts that stand without context, together they are an odyssey of instrumental record.

You can purchase the album here.

Dark Model Bio:

With his enormously diverse music background, he has produced several hundreds of music related works, including not only his own original releases but also remixes and collaborative projects with many other musicians such as James Brown, Serge Gainsbourg, Ron Sexsmith, Chic, Simon Lebon, Yoshihide Otomo. He has been referred to as “Remix Wizard,” “Unpredictable,” “Captain sailing into the uncharted waters of dance music” by music journalists, and Norman Cook (Fatboy Slim) described his music as “F***ing insane!”

Since the launch of the project in May 2012, Dark Model’s music has been licensed and featured in numerous media projects, including Box Office film promos / trailer for films such as “Elysium”, “The Paperboy”, in Verizon “Droid” TV commercial, and in advertising campaigns for Lexus, Oakley, KFC, and many more.

Track List:
01 Dance of Wrath (Ikari No Mai)
02 Fate
03 Close to Infinity
04 Broken Arrows
05 Onibi (Demon Fire)
06 Hope Is Never Gone
07 Candle in the Desert
08 Ran (Resistance)
09 Double Cross
10 Prayer for the New Moon
11 Moment of Truth
12 Judgment Day
13 Abandoned
14 I Will Return
15 Farewell to the Moon
16 Oath (Dubstep Remix)

Related Content