Skip to main content

Top 10 House Music Selections Of The Week

Top 10 House Music Selections Of The Week

Aside from hot new tunes from Hot Since 82, Disclosure, & Friend Within, we dug a little bit deeper this week to present you some very creative and unconventional music from the likes of Shall Ocin, WD2N, & more.

1. “Grace” Cleavage & Lars Vegas, Toolroom Records

Deep & soulful house music about as as good as it gets here in 2014 from Dutch producers Cleavage and Lars Vegas of Detroit Swindle. Peep the video attached which doesn't appear to have much in common with the track but it does have a lot of paint, a pair of breasts, a toy baby's arm, and a black cat. Why? I don't know but this track is going to stick around all summer long.

2. “The Mechanism” Disclosure x Friend Within, Universal Island Recordings

Friend Within took us to another level with this track on his Essential Mix back in January. Now here we are finally in mid-May after the powers that be have finally decided to let us enjoy this funky as hell Disclosure & Friend Within collaboration. You know it's comin'!!

3. “Don't Touch The Alarm” Hot Since 82, Knee Deep In Sound

House music's next superstar Hot Since 82 launches his own label titled Knee Deep In Sound with his own release. The label's title is clearly inspired by his earlier release titled Knee Deep In Louise. Try picking the highlight of this track whether it be the bassline drop at the opening or the peak of the track at 4.5 minutes. On remixing duties is the legendary Booka Shade who surely give the original a run for its money.

4. “Being With You (Tomson Remix)” Oli Furness, Music With Content

Mancunian producer Tomson remixes fellow Mancunian Oli Furness' "Being With You" into a deep yet punchy four on the floor banger. The original is different in structure but equally as good and just as deserving of its own spot on this top 10 chart. This release is vinyl only so head over to Juno and get it!

5. “Matter Don't Matter” Craig Smith, TENG

Long time electronic music stalwart Craig Smith steps up to the plate on Teng and delivers a downtempo masterpiece which is actually the b-side to its lead single "Only When It is Darkest".

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

6. “Future Society” WD2N, MEXA Records

Brazilian duo WD2N serve up their premiere release on MEXA Recordings and all 4 tracks on this EP are equally as creative and separately unique from one another. We go for the closer "Future Society" because of its strangely haunting rhythms that hide a surprise sound just around every corner it turns.

7. “Opalescence (Raxon Remix)" Wehbba, audio tonic

Just released this past Monday on audio tonic, "Opalescence" gets an infectiously rough and energetic remix from Raxon.

8. "Desire Life" My Digital Enemy, Vudu Records

The Brighton duo My Digital Enemy are back once again this time with "Desire Life" out now through Vudu Records.

9. “Lurking Wolves” Shall Ocin, Ellum Audio

Shall Ocin takes on FiberRoot in a versus battle through Ellum Audio's latest release. FiberRoot's track is very strong but we pick Shall Ocin as the winner thanks to its mysterious melodies and very unpredictable break that have us exclaiming "UFF" once the beat kicks in.

10. “Anatomy (North Lake Remix)" DJ Tennis, Life and Death

Rounding out this week's chart is none other than Robot Heart favorite DJ Tennis and his latest EP "Local". The pick out of all seven tracks on this release for us is North Lake's gorgeously crafted remix of "Anatomy".

Related Content