Skip to main content

New Electronic Music- Top 10 Electro/Progressive Tracks- 8/13

  • Author:
  • Updated:

New Electronic Music- Top 10 Electro/Progressive Tracks- 8/13

This summer continues to bring us an avalanche of new electronic music, giving DJs a powerful arsenal to unleash on us at festivals worldwide. I discovered this week's #1 track on the Bounce Boat, an EDM yacht that sets out from NYC, during Mike Hawkins' killer set. The remaining top tracks are filled out by an epic hardstyle remix, a breakbeat experiment by one of my faves Dave Silcox, and a remix by newly discovered talent lost kings, among others. Get ready to discover some fresh new talent in the electro/progressive sphere!

View Previous Chart

1. "Freedom" Jay Hardway and Mike Hawkins, Spinnin' Records

I recently lost my shit to this track during Mike Hawkins' set on the Bounce Boat. Despite the Amurica image of the cover art with bald eagles soaring, this solid collaboration has some ethnic-sounding synth leads. Out now.

2. "Life Is Calling" (Wasted Penguinz Remiz) JoeySuki & Kill The Buzz, Revealed Recordings

I called out the potential rise of hardstyle when I covered EDC New York, during which both Hardwell and Tiësto featured hardstyle remixes during their sets. Now, Hardwell's label, which has traditionally focused on electro/progressive, has released 4 hardstyle remixes, my favorite of which is by Wasted Penguinz. Using the hypnotizing lyrics of the JoeySuki/Kill The Buzz original, the remix masterfully morphs from a progressive melody into a hard driving beat. Out now.

3. "Spark It Up" Dave Silcox, Ones To Watch Records

Silcox has long held a secure spot in my DJ playlist arsenal. He doesn't disappoint with his new song, which unleashes vocoded beats and seems to experiment with a breakbeat twist. Out now.

4. "Black Balloons" (lost kings Remix) Local Natives

I recently started following lost kings on SoundCloud and experienced major FOMO that I hadn't heard their solid remixes before. Their latest is a riveting progressive rendition that preserves the soulful vocals of the Local Natives original. Available as a free download via the SoundCloud stream below.

5. "Blowfish" Quintino & Kenneth G, Fly Eye

The Dutch electro masters Quintino and Kenneth G combine forces to bring us the next festival dominator. The melodic lead takes us to new energetic heights. Out August 25th.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

6. "Stand Up" Dirtcaps & The Oddword, Ultra Music

This Dutch powerhouse collab features glitchy synths and hip-hop style vocal drops in the buildup. I'm going to keep my eye on these two. The bassline on this one is all-consuming. Out now.

7. "Saffron" Row Rocka, Protocol Recordings

This glitchy electro powerhouse track is a perfect fit on Nicky Romero's label. I fully expect to jam to this at Electric Zoo come Labor Day weekend. Out now.

8. "Unbreakable" Dirty South feat. Sam Martin, Astralwerks

If I could describe Dirty South's new track in one word it would be ethereal. Though it still maintains a big room bassline, the synths are subtle and allow for a smooth, airy beat that carries high-pitched inflections of Martin's voice. Out August 19th.

9. "Out" D.O.D & Dazepark

D.O.D never misses a beat, this time joining forces with German producer Dazepark. Rising synths and claps morph into acid basslines and a marching band drop. Available as a free download via the SoundCloud stream below.

10. "Jumbo" Jordy Dazz & Fafaq, Revealed Recordings

Jordy Dazz keeps up his solid production output, this time teaming up with newcomer to this chart Fafaq. A solid mid-energy track with reverberating bass and constantly rising energy. Out now.

Follow Tony Lett (DJ Lettrón) on Facebook | Twitter

Related Content