Skip to main content

Larry Levan of the Paradise Garage Receives Tribute Compilation 'Genius Of Time'

Featuring mixes and remixes from one of dance music's all-time greats

Larry Levan might very well be one of the greatest DJs of all time. He was a true guiding force in the realm of underground dance music from the very beginning and his extensive knowledge of music was shared every time he touched the decks. Not just an accomplished DJ but also a pioneering producer, Levan continuously showcased innovations with unique forms House and Disco.

This year Universal will release a 2 disc compilation CD titled Genius Of Time, that will pay homage to some of the artist's brightest moments in the studio. Featuring special mixes and remixes of tracks by Gwen Guthrie, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jimmy Ross, Loose Joints and Grace Jones among others, the compilation is a snapshot of the foundation of dance music.

Listen to some of our favorite tracks that are featured on the compilation and check out the complete tracklisting below.

Genius Of Time is due to be released March 25th, 2016 via Universal Music.

Recommended Articles


01. NYC Peech Boys - Life Is Something Special (Special Edition)
02. Syreeta - Can’t Shake Your Love (Larry Levan Mix)
03. Gwen Guthrie - Padlock (Larry Levan Mix)
04. Man Friday - Love Honey, Love Heartache (A Larry Levan Mix)
05. Merc & Monk - Carried Away (Larry Levan Remix)
06. Dee Dee Bridgewater - Bad For Me (Larry Levan Mix)
07. Bert Reid - Groovin' With You (Vocal, Levan Edit)
08. Tramaine - The Rock (Garage Vocal Version)
09. Man Friday - Groove (Larry’s Yaw)
10. Jimmy Ross - First True Love Affair (Larry Levan Remix)
11. Gwen Guthrie - Seventh Heaven (Levan Mix) 


01. David Joseph - You Can’t Hide Your Love (Larry Levan Mix)
02. Grace Jones - Feel Up (Larry Levan Mix)
03. Gwen Guthrie - It Should Have Been You (Larry Levan Mix)
04. Loose Joints - Tell Me (Today) (Larry Levan Mix)
05. Esther Williams - I’ll Be Your Pleasure (Larry Levan Mix)
06. Man Friday - Real Love (The Paradise Garage Mix)
07. Central Line - Walking Into Sunshine (Special Mix)
08. Jeffrey Osborne - Plane Love (Specially Remixed Version – Larry Levan Remix)
09. Gwen Guthrie - Peanut Butter (Long Vocal) Larry Levan Remix)
10. Smokey Robinson - And I Don’t Love You (Instrumental Dub)
11. Peech Boys - Don’t Make Me Wait (Extended Version) 

Related Content