Skip to main content

DâM-FunK Set to Take On Acclaimed DJ KICKS Mix Series

DâM-FunK DJ KICKS is due to be released on May 27th, along with a string of tour dates
  • Author:
  • Publish date:
Dam FUnk


As one of the most innovative producers on the planet, it seems only fitting that !K7 Records tap DâM-FunK for the next DJ Kicks release. His overall production style is unique and modern yet nostalgic beyond compare as he brings timeless funk and soulful rhythms into the future with his dedicated approach.

Dam makes it plain, "Modern-Funk is a combination of all the sounds on the mix: Funk, Boogie, Electro, House, Modern-Soul, Ambient tones… a push and pull of nostalgia and progressiveness…"

At a satisfying 19 songs, Dam lets grooves breath, this is a mix to happily get lost in. It's a document in vibe. Unexpected contemporary joints from low-key producers like Henning and L33 mingle with lost gems from unlikely places. 80's Fusion-Jazz guitarist Tony Palkovic on "True To Yourself" follow the the airy-burn of new-age ensemble Gaussian Curve's "Broken Clouds" or the super rare bliss-Funk of "Theme From Beach Boy" from 1982. Dam's excellent collaboration with Nite Jewel, as 'Nite-Funk' on "Can U Read Me?" is pure bliss and such a fantastic collaboration you'd be yearning for more, reminding listeners that one of Dam's biggest assets is his duality from master DJ to trend-setting producer. 

And then we get Dam's DJ-Kicks exclusive "Believer". Sheets of synth lines fall all around a locking drum program that starts off innocently enough but ends you in a half-hypnotic state. An extensive instrumental composition that on it's own could only be classified as signature Modern-Funk. There may be a lot of folks dabbling but there really is only one Damon.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

DâM-FunK Digs Through His Immersive Record Collection

A strictly limited 10″ vinyl single containing two of the rarest tracks from the mix will be available exclusively via !K7’s online store and Bandcamp.

A1. Index – Starlight (The Break)
B1. Verticle Lines – Theme From Beach Boy

DâM-FunK DJ KICKS Tracklist:
01. Moon B - Oof
02. Nicci Gable - Close To Who?
03. Randell & Schippers - Love Jam
04. Verticle Lines - Theme From Beach Boy
05. Brandon - Suzy Hijack
06. Take Three - Tonite’s The Night (All Right)
07. Index - Starlight
08. Uncle Jams Army - Dial-A-Freak
09. Gemini - Log In
10. Nexus - Stand Up (Instrumental)
11. Reggie B - Poison Candy
12. L33 - Keepin It Tight
13. Gaussian Curve - Broken Clouds
14. Tony Palkovic - True To Yourself
15. Henning - Arrival / Departure
16. Nite-Funk - Can U Read Me?
17. DaM-FunK - Believer
18. True Design - I Wanna Break
19. Crystal Winds - Funk Ain't Easy


15 San Francisco, CA - 1015 Folsom
17 Palm Springs, CA - The Saguaro Hotel

6 Oberlin, OH - Oberlin College
12 Joshua Tree, CA - Joshua Tree Music Festival
14 Los Angeles - L.A. Family School benefit

2 London - Jazz Cafe
3 Amsterdam - Paradiso Noord - Tolhuistuin
4 Barcelona - Primavera Sound
5 Paris - We Love Green Festival

2 Okinawa, Japan Corona Sunsets Festival

Related Content