Skip to main content

Axis Records, the label helmed by acclaimed producer Jeff Mills, has announced a new offshoot called Axis Audiophile series, focusing specifically on high quality vinyl releases.

Each record will be pressed on 180-gram virgin vinyl at 32-bit/48kHz and "mastered for high-fidelity sounds."

The first release from the imprint will be an album by Mills' side project, Jino Ohno Mitchell Mills, that leans toward the unique style of electronic-jazz fusion. Kenji "Jino" Hino plays bass and vocals while Yumiko Ohno plays the Moog synth. Gerlad Mitchell of Underground Resistance handles the keyboard with Mills taking on the drum machine and percussion.

Mills will also be releasing a solo album called Free Fall Galaxy, which will be the ninth phase of his Sleeper Wakes saga. The label reports it as "[capturing] the triangular pursuit of a prey that falls victim to its attacker." Look for that one coming in June.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Kobe Session
A1 Eventide
A2 Introductions (MC/translator: Masaaki Ishizaki)
B Happy Gamma Ray

Free Fall Galaxy
01. Medians
02. The Hunter
03. Gravitational Lensing
04. Inner Synthesis
05. Solar Crossroads
06. Transformation In the Virgo Constellation
07. The Hunted
08. Rabid Star Clusters
09. Tri-angularism
10. Spectroscopic
11. Entering (The Free Fall Galaxy)
12. Irreversible Elliptic Orbits
13. Aurora 

[via RA]

Related Content