Skip to main content
Publish date:

Review: DJ Koze Presents Pampa Vol 1

Expertly sequenced and curated, DJ Koze's Pampa Vol 1 is 2016's first vital compilation, bringing the label to new heights

Pampa Records, the widely celebrated label run by DJ Koze and Marcus Fink, has released its first compilation Vol 1. This album has been long gestating since the label first started putting out quality releases at the start of the decade. That time feels well worth it. As a whole, Pampa Vol 1 is probably the most tightly-woven compilation released to date in 2016.

It's hard to pinpoint standouts on a compilation like this where each track has room to breathe and showcase its own attributes, but I'll try. Ada's "You and Me" unfurls around an explosive r&b sample, Dntel comes out swinging with the unexpectedly stirring "Snowshoe", and Axel Boman's "In The Dust Of This Planet" is a personal favorite of mine from his discography. The compilation's sequencing revolves around Roman Flügel's "9 Years", with DJ Koze's house take in the front and Flügel's slower, contemplative original bookending the album. But every track is as vital as the one before or after, a chapter of a greater whole, and all of them will bring great love and energy onto dancefloors worldwide.

Recommended Articles

Just like you see in the teaser videos that Pampa released, I foresee this being an album that gets passed around and revered. The label couldn't be entering the latter half of the 2010s with a stronger opening salvo. Tracklist below:

1. Lianne La Havas - Lost & Found (Matthew Herbert Remix)
2. Ada - You and Me
3. Roman Flügel - 9 Years (Dj Koze Remix) 
4. Jackmate feat Nik Reiff - Pacemaker
5. Axel Boman - In The Dust Of This Planet
6. Nasrawi - Bump With You
7. Lawrance - Glow
8. Stimming - No. 17
9. Funkstörung - I Does It
10. Josef - I Wonder
11. Mount Kimbie - Bells_5
12. Michel Cleis - Un Prince
13. Die Vögel - Everything
14. Isolée - I like It Here Can I Stay?
15. Jamie XX & Kosi Kos - Come We Go
16. Dntel - Snowshoe
17. Acid Pauli - Nana (Vinyl Version)
18. Gold Panda - Black voices
19. Roman Flügel - 9 Years
20. DJ Koze - Royal Asscher Cut (Mathias Kaden's Flötotto Remix)


Related Content