Skip to main content

Techno Legends Awarded The Spirit of Detroit

Techno legends were awarded The Spirit of Detroit award, recognizing their influential roles in creating a world-renowned genre
Photo courtesy of Kevin Saunderson

Photo courtesy of Kevin Saunderson

In the midst of the recently declared “Techno Week” here in Detroit, a group of artists were recognized for the instrumental role they played in the foundation of the genre. The Spirit of Detroit Award, presented by the Detroit City Council, is one given to individuals or groups for “outstanding achievement or service to the citizens of Detroit.”

This year, councilor Scott Benson remarked, “I would like to pay honor and pay tribute to those who helped found [Techno]. Most of the music is seen in dance clubs and around the world. The fact that it was established here in Detroit needs to be reflected here and identified as well as just celebrated.”

Among those presented with the award were Juan Atkins, Derrick May and Kevin Saunderson (AKA “The Belleville Three”), as well as Jeff Mills, Kelli Hand, Eddie Fowlkes, Carl Craig, Paxahau Events, Underground Resistance and Submerge Techno Museum.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

There is no better way to kick off the newly established “Techno Week” and, of course, Detroit’s iconic festival—Movement, than paying homage to the pioneers to established the genre. 

Here at Magnetic we would like say thank you to the recent Spirit of Detroit recipients, as many of us certainly would not be here without you.

Related Content