Skip to main content

Watch: deadmau5 Unveils Cube 2.0 at Veld Music Festival 2016 in Toronto

The $2 million stage setup is finally ready for the masses

Few live stage show setups have been as celebrated as deadmau5' legendary Cube, so it made sense for him to update the concept and take it back on the road in 2016. $2 million later, Cube 2.0 has finally made its debut at this year's edition of Veld Music Festival in Toronto.

A member of the audience was generous enough to catch the entirety of deadmau5' set at the festival using a head-mounted camera. The progressive house mastermind kicked his set off with an edit (or one of the edits) of his Kaskade collaboration, "Beneath with Me," setting the LED-paneled structure ablaze with colorful patterns and swirls.

deadmau5 had initially made renderings of the Cube 2.0 stage concept using the Unreal Engine. The software is traditionally used by game development teams - including those that worked on titles such as Rune and Bioshock - but is versatile enough to be used in place of CAD drawing programs by engineers and architects.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

It initially seemed as though deadmau5 might showcase the Cube 2.0 at his Tomorrowland Belgium live set alongside Eric Prydz, so the Veld unveil came as something of a surprise. He and Prydz have hinted that they may go on tour together, however, so fans might still get to experience one of their collaborative performances in the presence of the monolithic structure.

Conveniently enough, the fan who captured the video from deadmau5' Veld performance was gracious enough to include a track list and time stamps in the YouTube video description. Read through the titles below to identify a song being played at any point of the video.

01. 00:00:30 deadmau5 - 3 pounds of other stuff (w/deadmau5 & Kaskade ft. Skylar Grey - Beneath With Me (Acappella))
02. 00:08:17 deadmau5 - Imaginary Friends (w/deadmau5 & Kaskade ft. Skylar Grey - Beneath With Me (Acappella))
03. 00:12:55 deadmau5 - Avaritia
04. 00:18:29 deadmau5 - The Veldt
05. 00:27:05 deadmau5 - FML (live Intro)
06. 00:35:08 deadmau5 - Take Care Of The Proper Paperwork
07. 00:36:44 deadmau5 - Some Chords (Special Intro Edit)
08. 00:38:02 deadmau5 - Some Chords (Dillon Francis Remix)
09. 00:40:07 deadmau5 - Maths
10. 00:41:52 deadmau5 - Maths (Cobra Effect Remix)
11. 00:45:03 deadmau5 - Moar Ghosts N Stuff (Joel's Festival Rant Edit)
12. 00:47:21 deadmau5 - Ghosts N Stuff
13. 00:50:39 deadmau5 - My Pet Coelacanth
14. 00:53:10 deadmau5 - Nvidia
15. 00:55:52 deadmau5 - No Problem
16. 01:03:00 deadmau5 - Snowcone
17. 01:08:05 deadmau5 - Strobe (2016 Live Intro)

Related Content