Publish date:

The xx Are Back With A New Single And Album

I See You seems to be The xx record we were all hoping for
The XX

The xx

The xx have announced their highly anticipated third album and just dropped a new single "On Hold" (see below). 

The new album will be titled I See You, and will be released on January 13, 2017 via Young Turks. This album will be the follow up to the bands two previous albums—xx and Coexist—which have sold over 3 million copies but had fans wondering if they were capable of anything but that "xx" sound. 

The new single "On Hold" brings that familiar xx melancholy with some new found energy and fresh production. The track despite being heartbreaking brings a bitter sweet energy with its drum programming and loopy samples. You will have this one on repeat.

I See You marks a new era for the London trio of Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim and Jamie Smith, both sonically and in terms of process. With their first two records xx and Coexist  both made in relative isolation in London, I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa TX, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London, and is characterized by a more outward-looking, open and expansive approach. 

The electronic sensibilities of Jamie Smith sparkle on this first single and we anticipate the entire record to have this type of energy. I See You seems to be The xx record we were all hoping for, one that stirs the emotions and lifts us up all at the same time. 

The xx - I See You

The xx - I See You

The xx – I See You track list:

1. Dangerous

Recommended Articles

2. Say Something Loving

3. Lips

4. A Violent Noise

5. Performance

6. Replica

7. Brave For You

8. On Hold

9. I Dare You

10. Test Me

Related Content