Skip to main content
Publish date:

The power of the 808 hits home in new documentary you have to see!

Featuring an all-star cast including the Beastie Boys, Questlove, Armand Van Helden, Fatboy Slim, and more!

The 808 machine has undoubtedly been one of the most important instruments in the development of dance, electronic, and hip hop, into what it is today. The importance of this has not been lost on the film world, and today, Apple Music has officially released a documentary about the machine for the world. 

Featuring a stellar lineup of Afrika Bambaata, A-Trak, Phil Collins, Rick Rubin, Questlove, Richie Hawtin, and so many more influential names, this is a documentary that has to be seen to be fully appreciated. With narration by Zane Lowe, this movie manages to capture passion and facts and bring the two into a brilliantly produced film. 

For those interested in watching the movie, watch it here via iTunes. 

Alex Noyer, the man behind the project and CEO of You Know Films, explains about the film- 

“This is it! After nearly 5 years of work ‘808' is coming out. Our audience’s support throughout has been incredible and thanks to our amazing partners we can finally celebrate this awe-inspiring piece of music history. I must thank my incredible team for their hard work, commitment and perseverance throughout."

Zane Lowe also explained- 

"I love this film. The 808 has left an impactful mark on my life. It's been the driving force for so many of my favorite records, and I jumped at the chance to be involved. I wanted to learn more about how this incredible drum machine came to exist, and it’s been exciting to hear other people’s stories and what it means to them. It’s the magic ingredient.”

Soundtrack listing: 

1) Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force - Planet Rock

2) Beastie Boys - Paul Revere

Recommended Articles

3) Public Enemy – Yo! Bum Rush the Show

4) Man Parrish - Hip Hop Be Bop (Don’t Stop)

5) Planet Patrol - Play At Your Own Risk

6) Shannon - Let The Music Play

7) Strafe - Set It Off

8) T La Rock / Jazzy J - It’s Yours

9) 808 State – Flow Coma

10) Felix da Housecat – Kickdrum

11) Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz- What U Gon’ Do (feat. Lil Scrappy)

12) Flux Pavilion – Vibrate

13) Jamie xx - Gosh

14) Lil Wayne & Charlie Puth - “Nothing But Trouble”   

Related Content