Skip to main content

Carl Craig Presents New Album 'Versus' with First EP Releasing March 17th

Carl Craig's turns his 2008 orchestral debut into a new album project said to be releasing May 5th, 2017 with the first 'Versus' EP to drop this month!

Some of the best producers in techno are joining forces with orchestral symphonies and proving to the world, that the genre is far more than just gritty electronic synths. It is hard to imagine the underground's greatest dark love being remastered, if you will, using the traditional (and somewhat original) brass, percussion, wind & string instruments to recreate some of the most well-known techno tracks, but that's just what is happening. The trend first started with Jeff Mills & the Montpelier Philharmonic Orchestra in 2007, followed by Carl Craig & Les Siècles Orchestra in 2008, Pete Tong & The Heritage Orchestra with Jules Buckley in 2015, and Juan Atkins & the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra in 2016. 

Nine years after its 2008 debut at La Cité de La Musique, Paris, Carl Craig is finally giving Versus the homecoming it deserves with a fourteen-track album set to release on May 5th. To make our mouths water a little before the full album release, an EP, Sandstorms, is being released on March 17th with a limited edition 12" vinyl featuring the studio version of the Versus orchestral adaptation along with unreleased take of the original.  


The cherry on top of this bomb of a release is the announcement of the first tour dates for the Versus Synthesizer Ensemble Live featuring Carl Craig joined by five musicians on stage, where together they will interpret the album onto a synthesizer wall. 

May 27th - 29th - Detroit Movement Festival, Detroit, USA

June 17th - Sonar, Barcelona, Spain

July 16th - Dour Festival, Dour, Belgium

August 27th - SW4, London, UK


Versus Full Tracklisting: 

1. Enter the Darkness

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

2. Darkness

3. Coding Sequence

4. Sandstorms

5. At Les

6. You're Our Best and Only Friend

7. Desire

8. Barcelona Trist

9. The Melody

10. Domina

11. Error In Replication

12. C-Beams Glitter

13. Technology

14. Coding Cycle 

You can pre-order the limited edition vinyl here & the digital album here

Related Content