Skip to main content

Eurythmics Re-Releasing Eight Iconic Albums On Sweet Vinyl

Sweet Dreams are made of these vinyls.

Iconic British 80’s synth-pop and new wave duo Eurythmics are re-releasing eight of their iconic albums on vinyl. Spanning their entire career, they will release In The Garden (1981), Sweet Dreams (1983) and Touch (1983) on April 13, 2018, followed by Be Yourself Tonight (1985), Revenge (1986) and Savage (1987) in July 2018 and We Too Are One (1989) and Peace (1999) in October 2018.

The re-releases will start in April 2018 and continue through the year until October 2018. Their soundtrack album 1984 (For the Love of Big Brother) is not being included.

The re-release helps to spotlight a group that helped define the 1980s with over 20 international hits, not just “Sweet Dreams,” and 80 million albums sold. They have been nominated fro the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2017.

The vinyls are going to be special assures Dave Stweart of Eurythmics. “They will sound better. In the archives, we have the original half-inch masters, which have a fantastic sound. That’s what we’re going from, not the digital remasters where the sound has been compressed.”

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

How it came together and how the songs were ordered was carefully thought out as well.

“If you’re doing a concert, it has to have a shape. Otherwise, it’s just disparate. So we gave a lot of thought to the order of the songs,” remarks Annie Lennox. “Dave would write his order and I would write mine. We might shift a song but we would come to an agreement so the listening experience had a continuum on one side and then you would flip the album over.”

Fans can pre-order the vinyl here and see when each album is being released. 

In honor of the upcoming vinyl, DJ Earworm was tasked with putting together a 11-minute Eurythmics video mash-up, which you can view below. 

Related Content