Skip to main content

Nils Frahm Details New Album 'All Melody' Release Date, Tracklist

Nils Frahm will release his seventh studio album in January.
Nils Frahm

Legendary composer and producer, Nils Frahm has announced his seventh album All Melody. The German classical, ambient electronic artist has spent the last two years building a brand new studio in Berlin, where he recorded the album. In support of the new album, Frahm has announced he will go on his first world tour since 2015, including a batch of North American tour dates in 2018.

All Melody will be released on January 26th via Erased Tapes, right in the sweet spot of music to relax and keep you warm for winter days and nights inside.

In a statement, Frahm talks about what the album says about him and how he put it all together.

"In the process of completion, any album not only reveals what it has become but, maybe more importantly, what it hasn't become. All Melody was imagined to be so many things over time and it has been a whole lot, but never exactly what I planned it to be.” he says.

He also talks about using different pieces of equipment that you can view in a teaser clip below and how they helped create something new for this LP. 

“I wanted to hear beautiful drums, drums I've never seen or heard before, accompanied by human voices, girls, and boys. They would sing a song from this very world and it would sound like it was from a different space. I heard a synthesizer, which sounds like a harmonium playing the All Melody, melting together with a line of a harmonium sounding like a synthesizer," He remarks. "My pipe organ would turn into a drum machine, while my drum machine would sound like an orchestra of breathy flutes. I would turn my piano into my very voice, and any voice into a ringing string. The music I hear inside me will never end up on a record, as it seems I can only play it for myself."

"This record includes what I think sticks out and describes my recent musical discoveries in the best possible way I could imagine."

Pre-order All Melody here.

Album tracklist:

1. The Whole Universe Wants To Be Touched

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

2. Sunson

3. A Place

4. My Friend The Forest

5. Human Range

6. Forever Changeless

7. All Melody

8. #2

9. Momentum

10. Fundamental Values

11. Kaleidoscope

12. Harm Hymn

The tour will kick off on March 15th at the Knockdown Center in Queens, NY. It will snake across North America for the next three weeks with stops in cities like Chicago, Montreal and San Francisco, before ending in Los Angeles on April 7th. Get info here.

Related Content