Publish date:

Simian Mobile Disco Announce New Album 'Murmurations,' Share First Single

The pair's fifth album will arrive in May.
Simian Mobile Disco

Simian Mobile Disco

Simian Mobile Disco has announced their new Murmurations. The duo’s fifth studio album will be released on May 11 via Wichita Recordings. To tease the LP, they have released the song and accompanying video for the first single “Caught In The Wave.”

According to a press release, the album from James Ford & Jas Shaw will work both on headphones and in the clubs. Nine tracks in total, the pair collaborated with Hackney-based vocal collective The Deep Throat Choir, as well as creative directors Kazim Rashid of ENDLESSLOVESHOW (Aphex Twin, Flying Lotus, Hudson Mohawk) and Carri Munden.

They worked with photographer Kiani Del Valle, who directed and choreographed three music videos for Murmurations including "Caught In A Wave.” She spoke about the themes that are explored in the video.

"For 'Caught in a Wave' I wanted to explore the idea of chaos. I've been fascinated by mosh pits and have always been deeply moved by all the codes in its' culture and the science of adrenaline and endorphin release. From pogo to slam dance and hardcore dancing, what mainly excites my eye is the physical impact and the sense of trust and commitment between strangers." 

"Juxtaposing a mosh pit with a choreographed contemporary dance routine, I wanted to create an atmosphere for these two things to not only meet but also to elevate each other. The glue between the two also being the underlying friendship/love story where both characters are continually in the midst of a turning point."

Pre-order the LP here.

Murmurations Tracklist:

Recommended Articles

1. Boids

2. Caught In A Wave

3. We Go

4. Gliders

5. Hey Sister

6. A Perfect Swarm

7. Defender

8. V Formation

9. Murmuration

Related Content