Publish date:

Kamasi Washington Announces New Double-Album 'Heaven And Earth'

Two and a half hours of Kamasi Washington coming soon.
Kamasi Washington

Kamasi Washington

Famed jazz saxophonist, composer and collaborator Kamasi Washington has announced a new double album Heaven and Earth, which will be released in June via Young Turks.

The two-and-a-half hour epic, Heaven and Earth will follow the similarly tracked album The Epic, which was released in 2015 via Flying Lotus’ Braindfeeder.

On the new album, he will find himself back into his psychedelic, funk and jazz groove, working with his band The Next Step, which includes Thundercat. There are arrangements of Freddie Hubbard's 1962 tune "Hubtones" and the theme for the 1972 martial arts film Fist Of Fury.

In a statement via RA, he spoke about the difference between the two sides of the album, "The Earth side of this album represents the world as I see it outwardly, the world that I am a part of. The Heaven side of this album represents the world as I see it inwardly, the world that is a part of me. Who I am and the choices I make lie somewhere in between."

Heaven and Earth will be released on June 22 via Young Turks.



01. Fists Of Fury

02. Can You Hear Him

03. Hubtones

04. Connections

Recommended Articles

05. Tiffakonkae

06. The Invincible Youth

07. Testify

08. One Of One


09. The Space Travelers Lullaby

10. Vi Lua Vi Sol

11. Street Fighter Mas

12. Song For The Fallen

13. Journey

14. The Psalmnist

15. Show Us The Way

16. Will You Sing

Related Content