Skip to main content

Leon Vynehall Announces New Album 'Nothing Is Still,' Shares First Single "Envelopes (Chapter VI)"

Leon Vynehall will make his debut on Ninja Tune in June.
Leon Vynehall

Leon Vynehall has announced his new album Nothing Is Still. In addition to the album, which will be the first since he signed to Ninja Tune, he has unveiled the LP’s first single, “Envelopes (Chapter VI).”

The album is inspired by his family history as he returns to his own musical roots. He learned about his grandparents who emigrated from Southampton to New York City in the 1960s on a seven-day boat journey and learned of stories about them only after his grandfather’s passing four years ago.

“I knew they had lived in the U.S. and heard many anecdotes, but it was only after Pops died and my Nan presented these Polaroids of their time there; of her waitressing at the New York Mayor’s Ball in ’66, or Pops with horses on a ranch in Arizona, that she delved deeper into their story, and I started to become overtly inquisitive about it,” Vynehall says after conversations with his grandmother. He felt the need to document their story and an album came to be.

The first single “Envelopes (Chapter VI)” has a feverish tenderness to it that you might picture on a journey from the South coast of England to the United States.

Nothing Is Still will be released on June 15 via Ninja Tune. Pre-order the album here.

Leon Vynehall – Nothing Is Still Tracklist

1. From The Sea/It Looms (Chapters I & II)

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

2. Movements (Chapter III)

3. Birds On The Tarmac (Footnote III)

4. Julia (Footnote IV)

5. Drinking It In Again (Chapter IV)

6. Trouble - Parts I, II, & III (Chapter V)

7. Envelopes (Chapter VI)

8. English Oak (Chapter VII)

9. Ice Cream (Chapter VIII)

10. It Breaks (Chapter IX)

Leon Vynehall Nothing Is Still Artwork

Leon Vynehall Nothing Is Still Artwork 

Related Content