Travis Scott Releases Highly Anticipated New Album Astroworld

Travis Scott's Astroworld is finally here.
Publish date:
Updated on
Travis Scott Astroworld

If you have been around hip-hop internet for the past two years, you will have seen rabid Travis Scott fans demanding the release of his upcoming album Astroworld. It became a meme after a certain point. This week he announced it would be released on Friday (today) and now the LP is out. It contains some big name features and production work from the likes of Tame Impala, Frank Ocean, Drake, James Blake and more.

Tame Impala and Pharrell are credited on “Skeletons,” Drake is on “Sicko Mode,” Migos’ Quavo and Takeoff appear on “Who? What!.” James Blake is on “Stop Trying To Be God,” while Stevie Wonder also plays Harmonica on the record. John Mayer and Thundercat are on “Astrothunder,” 21 Savage is on “NC-17,” Frank Ocean is on “Carousel,” The Weeknd is on “Wake Up” and Juice WRLD and Sheck Wes are credited on “No Bystanders.”

Travis Scott brings a nice balance between his turn up anthems that wreck shows (go to one of his concerts and see) and then slower jams that have plenty of “straight ups” and manipulations to his voice. It is well produced from start to finish as well-crafted melodies weave from one song to the next. This is his chance to become a true, bonafide rockstar in a world where there aren’t many.

The album is a reference to the Six Flags AstroWorld, located in Houston, that was shuttered in 2005.

"That’s what it’s going to sound like, like taking an amusement park away from kids," Scott said in a recent interview with GQ about the album's vibe. "We want it back. We want the building back. That’s why I’m doing it. It took the fun out of the city.”

At 17 songs in total, this should satiate the most fanatical Travis Scott fans as they head to Astroworld, so stream the full record below or pick it up wherever you get your music. 

Related Content