Skip to main content

Governors Ball has announced its 2019 lineup and it is a doozy. The festival has followed the trend of other Live Nation festivals and split things up between the days already, giving us a sense of who will be the main headliners for each day. Tyler, The Creator, Lil Wayne, Brockhampton and Gesaffestein will headline Friday. Saturday will have Major Lazer, Florence + The Machine, The 1975 and Kacey Musgraves at the top of the bill and The Strokes, SZA, Nas and Kaytranada will headline on Sunday.

The bill seems to follow a trend we are seeing for festivals in 2019 where indie rock is struggling to find a major place on these bills, instead being replaced by hip-hop. There is a pretty nice balance of women throughout the lineup with other acts like Mitski, King Princess, Jorja Smith, Amber Mark, Jessie Reyez, Noname and Charli XCX all performing over the three days.

Dance has always had a place at Gov Ball with live (or live-ish) acts and will be represented by Bob Moses, ZHU and Louis The Child, among others.

Seeing that this is New York City, Sunday will likely sellout very quickly with The Strokes returning to Governors Ball once again following previous performances in 2016 and 2014. Nas is also a New York icon, while there will be a special performance by Joey Bada$$ and Flatbush Zombies as Beast Coast.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Governors Ball will take place Friday, May 31 through Sunday, June 2 on Randall’s Island in New York City. Tickets are available now on the festival’s website.

Governors Ball 2019 Lineup

Related Content