Skip to main content

Karen O & Danger Mouse Detail Joint Album 'Lux Prima,' Share New Single "Woman"

Lux Prima will be released on March 15.
Karen O & Danger Mouse

Danger Mouse & Karen O

Late last year, Danger Mouse and Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman Karen O announced a joint album and released a song "Lux Prima." Today, they have released details of that album now titled Lux Prima, which will be released on March 15 and has nine tracks. In addition to the album announcement, they have revealed a new single “Woman.”

“Woman” keeps the energy going with a stomping bassline and Karen O’s powerful and passionate vocal. It may not be as long as the album opener and title track, but it provides another view into what this record will provide as one of the more interesting collabs we are getting early in 2019.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

‘Woman’ came like a bolt out of the blue when we were in the studio,” says O in a press release. “We did a first pass where I was blurting unintelligible words and Danger Mouse and I were like ‘Dang! That was intense. What’s that word I keep saying? Woman.’ The atmosphere was volatile with it being just after the election. A lot of people felt helpless like you do when you’re a scared kid looking for assurance that everything is gonna be alright. I like to write songs that anyone can relate to but this one felt especially for the inner child in me that needed the bullies out there to know you don’t fuck with me.”

Fans can pre-order Lux Prima now and get both “Lux Prima” the single and “Woman” as instant grat downloads. An exclusive vinyl color way will be available in independent record stores on release day. So think about supporting your record shop instead of the big box stores (who are also going out of business) or Amazon.

Lux Prima Tracklist:

1. Lux Prima
2. Ministry
3. Turn The Light
4. Woman
5. Redeemer
6. Drown
7. Leopard’s Tongue
8. Reveries
9. Nox Lumina

Related Content