Skip to main content
Publish date:

Weval Announce Sophomore Album 'The Weight' On Kompakt

This follows their critically acclaimed debut in 2016
Weval The Weight

Amsterdam electronic duo Weval have announced their sophomore album The Weight. The 13-track LP will be released on March 8 via Kompakt. To get the promo cycle under way, they have released the lead single “Heaven, Listen.”

The single is a frenetic, quirky and intricately put together blend of electronic music with some pop sensibilities.

Their debut was our top album of 2016, so to say we are excited about this is an understatement. Having taken a listen at the full thing, fans are in for treat this time around as well.

Recommended Articles

The Weight finds the duo exploring new avenues in their sound, where they eventually came to a place where “everything felt spontaneous, new and exciting, like we had in the beginning.” They involved various instruments like guitars, piano, synths and some quirky toy synths.

"We've always wanted a narrative for the album, and finding the right order perhaps took the most effort" they explain in a press release. "We felt anxious, felt insanely positive, felt heartbroken again, felt in love again, and there was death, and even suicide around us. It was quite chaotic."

Pre-order the record here before it is released on March 8. See the complete tracklist below.

Weval The Weight Tracklist:

01. The Weight
02. Roll Together
03. Are You Even Real
04. False State of Mind
05. Someday
06. Heaven, Listen
07. Couldn’t Do It Better
08. Same Little Thing
09. Silence On The Wall
10. Look Around
11. Doesn’t Do Anything
12. Heartbreak Television
13. Who’s Running Who

Related Content