Skip to main content
Publish date:

The National Announce New Album, Short Film 'I Am Easy to Find'

They have released their first single "You Had Your Soul With You" for the album, which will be released in May on 4AD.
The National Sasquatch Festival 2018

The National have announced their new album I Am Easy To Find, including its tracklist. The new record will be released on May 17 via 4AD. To help push the announcement, they have released the opening track, “You Had Your Soul With You,” which features vocals from Gail Ann Dorsey—a longtime member of David Bowie’s band.

In addition to the new album, they will also release a short-film inspired by and featuring music from the LP. Also titled I Am Easy To Find, the 24-minute short film is directed by Mike Mills and features Alicia Vikander.

Recommended Articles

The album features a host of other names in addition to Gail Ann Dorsey, such as Sharon Van Etten, the Brooklyn Youth Chorus, Lisa Hannigan and Mina Tindle.

“Yes, there’s a lot of women singing on this, but it wasn’t because, ‘Oh, let’s have more women’s voices,’” Matt Berninger said in a statement. “It was more, ‘Let’s have more of a fabric of people’s identities.’ It would have been better to have had other male singers, but my ego wouldn’t let that happen.”

The National will go on tour this spring and summer in support of the album. See the tour dates here. They last released an album Sleep Well Beast in September 2017.

I Am Easy To Find Tracklist:

01 You Had Your Soul With You
02 Quiet Light
03 Roman Holiday
04 Oblivions
05 The Pull of You
06 Hey Rosey
07 I Am Easy to Find
08 Her Father in the Pool
09 Where Is Her Head
10 Not in Kansas
11 So Far So Fast
12 Dust Swirls in Strange Light
13 Hairpin Turns
14 Rylan
15 Underwater
16 Light Years

Related Content