Publish date:

Peggy Gou Mixing DJ-Kicks Featuring Aphex Twin, Kode 9, Kyle Hall & New Song From Gou

Gou's DJ-Kicks mix will be released in June.
Peggy Gou DJ-Kicks

Peggy Gou has been tabbed to take over the latest DJ-Kicks mix. The 69th in the series, her DJ-Kicks will be released this June. It will feature three exclusive tracks, including one from herself. Other tunes on there come from Aphex Twin, Black Merlin, Kyle Hall and Kode 9.

This has been something she wanted to do as a career milestone. “It’s the premier class of DJ mixes,” Gou says in a statement. “Some of my favorite selectors have contributed to it.”

Coming in at 19 songs in total, it will span the breadth of electronic music like the ambient classic from Spacetime Continuum “Fluresence” to the glitchy “Vordhosbn” from Aphex Twin and much more. She is also contributing her own record to this, “Hungboo,” which Gou says is the first track she ever made.

Recommended Articles

The cover features Gou and a tiger, though she explains that the tiger isn’t real and it is to represent her Korean heritage.

"I had the concept of this cover in my mind for a long time - as the first Korean woman to contribute to the DJ-Kicks series I wanted to do something from my heritage, so I chose the tiger, which is very important in Korean traditions and a metaphor for my personality," says Gou in a statement. 

"As it is not humane to shoot with a real tiger, I and the photographer Jonas Lindstroem used a library image to make a composite. The tiger 'disappears' when you turn to the inside-cover photo, to highlight that these beautiful animals are already extinct in my home country and in danger of disappearing from our world entirely".

The mix will be released on June 28 via !K7 Records. It can be pre-ordered here.

01 Spacetime Continuum - Fluresence
02 Peggy Gou - Hungboo (DJ-Kicks) **
03 Pearson Sound - Earwig
04 Pegasus - Perseguido Por El Rayo
05 Sly and Lovechild - The World According To Sly and Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)
06 Dorisburg - Rytm804
07 Hiver - Pert **
08 Kyle Hall - Flemmenup
09 DMX Krew - EPR Phenomena
10 JRMS - 3
11 Shades of Rhythm - Exorcist
12 Kode 9 - Magnetic City
13 The System - Vampirella
14 Black Merlin - Kundu
15 Aphex Twin - Vordhosbn
16 R-Tyme - Illusion (Mayday Remix)
17 Psyche - Crackdown
18 Deniro - Epirus
19 I:Cube - Cassette Jam 1993 **

** = Exclusive

Related Content