Publish date:

Magnetic Mix 047: 25 Years Of Paper Recordings

Label head Ben Davis aka Flash Atkins takes over for a retrospective mix of Paper.
Ben Davis

Having a label survive in the music business for one year is tough. The money isn’t there and it is often quite difficult work to build a brand listeners trust and want to be a part of. UK electronic label Paper Recordings has done just that, not just surviving, but also thriving over that period.. Celebrating 25 years in 2019, the label is putting out some best of compilations curated by Flash Atkins and Crazy P to highlight the over 2000 tracks released by 600 artists over the years. Flash Atkins, the alter ego of label boss Ben Davis, made us a Magnetic mix of tracks from those compilations to help take us back to the early days of the label with a sprinkling of newer records.

The label will also celebrate their 25 years on September 14 in Manchester with a party featuring Bjørn Torske, Miles Hollway and Flash Atkins b2b with De Fantastike To.

“I had great fun doing this mix but it wasn’t easy whittling down 2000 tracks,” explains Davis. “I tried not to get bogged down in big tracks that should be on and went with music that flowed. About half is 'old' paper and half ‘new’ and I was super pleased with how well they all blended together. However, ‘I Feel Music’ has always been my Paper end-of-nighter record.”

Recommended Articles

Listen to the mix below and follow along with the tracklist.

1. Daco - Under Pressure
2. Paper Music Issue One - Downtime
3. Diskobeistet - Gammal Morro
4. Crazy Penis - You Are We
5. De Fantastiske To feat. Della - When I Want To
6. Those Norwegians - 39-38-30
7. Proviant Audio - Take Me Back (Brennan Green Mix)
8. Rave-enka - Full Fres
9. Harlem Zip Code - I Feel Music

Related Content