Publish date:

Massive Attack Detail Mad Professor's Dub Version Of 'Mezzanine,' Cancel Special Edition Vinyl

The dub versions will be released on vinyl in September. But the overall release for the 20-year anniversary of 'Mezzanine' been a mess.
Massive Attack Dub Mad Professor Vinyl Mezzanine

Over the past year or so Massive Attack have been celebrating the 20-year anniversary of their seminal album Mezzanine. The rollout has come in starts and stops, notably after the group had to reschedule their 20-year anniversary tour in the US and Canada to the end of 2019 because of health issues and the vinyl being pushed back numerous times. After being announced last year, the duo has unveiled the details for Mad Professor’s dub versions of Mezzanine.

Originally created in 1998, these dub versions have been some of the most sought after bits of music from the group. It will feature versions of classics like Teardrop” and “Inertia Creeps,” as well as some of the lesser heralded tunes on the album like “Wire” and “Superpredators.” This dub album was originally supposed to be part of the Mezzanine release, but was shelved.

The group’s 20-year anniversary re-mastered album announced last year will finally be released (maybe) next week, but only the 2-CD version. The original special edition package on vinyl will not be released because the original design materials are no longer available.

Recommended Articles

“After many months of extra work and research we felt that the alternative packaging ideas were not relevant to the original album project and decided to release the Mad Professor Dub versions instead in order to make use of the vinyl,” explains the duo on Facebook. No information has been given on refunds.

These dub versions will be released next month. Dubbed Massive Attack Vs Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes ’98), the vinyl will be pink and arrive on September 20. Pre-order it here or here and see the complete tracklist below. Hopefully it comes out on time.


A1 Metal Banshee (Mad Professor Mix 1)
A2 Angel (Angel Dust)
A3 Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)
A4 Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub 1)
B1 Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise)
B2 Exchange (Mountain Steppers Dub)
B3 Wire (Leaping Dub)
B4 Group Four (Security Forces Dub)  

Related Content