Skip to main content

DJ Shadow Announces 23-Track Double Album 'Our Pathetic Age'

The album features the likes of Nas, Run The Jewels, Dave East and more on the album.
DJ Shadow Our Pathetic Age Cover Art

DJ Shadow has announced a new mammoth, 23-track double album titled Our Pathetic Age. The project comes loaded with features towards the second half of the record. Among those features include De La Soul, Nas, Run The Jewels, Dave East and members of the Wu-Tang Clan, Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah and Raekwon.

Our Pathetic Age follows his 2016 LP The Mountain Will Fall, which also included a track with Nas. OPA will be split into two parts: an 11-track instrumental album and then 12 tracks with features.

The title is a clear attack on the world we live in today. DJ Shadow explains its meaning in a statement.

“More than anything, I try to get a sense of the mood of society as a whole. The subtle signals that humans send each other, the way people behave, their frustrations and ebbs and flows. In my part of the world, people are scared. There’s rampant homelessness, and a real fear of falling into generational poverty. People are addicted to, and addled by distraction; they’re angry and confused, and disaffected by their own governmental institutions,” explains DJ Shadow.

Recommended Articles

“There’s songs that are inspired by this energy and seek to harness it, to make sense of it. In some cases, there’s attempts to salve the wound; in others, the songs merely observe but don’t offer solutions. Despite the title, it’s a hopeful, vibrant album...there is always light in darkness. I want it to reflect the times we live in, a signpost in the ground to mark the era...Our Pathetic Age”

He has released a new instrumental track “Rosie.” In July he shared the De La Soul collab “Rocket Fuel.”

Our Pathetic Age will be released on November 15 via Mass Appeal. Pre-order the LP here.

Our Pathetic Age Tracklist:

01. Nature Always Wins
02. Slingblade
03. Intersectionality
04. Beauty, Power, Motion, Life, Work, Chaos, Law
05. Juggernaut
06. Firestorm
07. Weightless
08. Rosie
09. If I Died Today
10. My Lonely Room
11. We Are Always Alone
12. Drone Warfare [ft. Nas, Pharaohe Monch]
13. Rain on Snow [ft. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon]
14. Rocket Fuel [ft. De La Soul]
15. C.O.N.F.O.R.M. [ft. Gift of Gab, Lateef the Truth Speaker, Infamous Taz]
16. Small Colleges (Stay With Me) [ft. Wiki, Paul Banks]
17. JoJo’s Words [ft. Stro]
18. Kings & Queens [ft. Run the Jewels]
19. Taxin’ [ft. Dave East]
20. Dark Side of the Heart [ft. Fantastic Negrito, Jumbo is Dr.ama]
21. I Am Not a Robot (Interlude)
22. Urgent, Important, Please Read [ft. Rockwell Knuckles, Tef Poe, Daemon]
23. Our Pathetic Age [ft. Samuel T. Herring] 

Related Content