Skip to main content

Lapalux Details New Album 'Amnioverse,' Shares Single "Earth"

This follows his 2017 album 'Ruinism.'

Lapalux, real name Stuart Howard, has announced his new album Amnioverse, out next month on Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder.

Howard describes the album as “a sort of portmanteau of the amniotic sac and the universe,” where the life cycle constantly repeats with birth, life, death and rebirth.

He is taking a different approach from his 2017 LP Ruinism. Each track is based on a snippet of speech by “friends, lovers, and ex partners.”

JFDR (Jófríður Ákadóttir) returns for two tracks on “Thin Air” and “The Lux Quadrant,” while vocalist Lilia appears on ”‘Limb To Limb,” “Voltaic Acid” and “Momentine.”

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

“For me the real focus was that the whole record flowed,” he says. ”I worked on each song sequentially and wouldn’t stop working on a session until they fitted together and told the story that I wanted to tell.”

The initial inspiration came from James Turrell’s Twilight Epiphany Skyspace installation in Texas.

In addition to the album, Lapalux has shared the first single “Earth,” which applies some breakbeats and some wah wahing synths. Amnioverse will be released on November 8. Pre-order the album here.

Amnioverse Tracklist:

A1. Oblivion
A2. Voltaic Acid
A3. Momentine
B1. Earth
B2. Hellix
C1. Thin Air
C2. Limb To Limb
D1. The Lux Quadrant
D2. Amnioverse
D3. Esc 

Related Content