Skip to main content

Toro Y Moi Releases Psychedelic 30-Minute Visual Mixtape 'Soul Trash'

Toro Y Moi follows up his outstanding album 'Outer Peace' with a trippy new mixtape.
Toro Y Moi Soul Trash mixtape

Toro Y Moi, real name Chaz Bear, has released a new audio, visual project Soul Trash. The new 30 minute project follows his album released in January Outer Peace.

Soul Trash embraces some of the more psychedelic and experimental aspects of his music. He sings on his own songs, puts together a few instrumentals and collaborates with a slew of other acts like Old Grape God.

The project is best viewed through the video below, which was directed by Laneya Billingsley. It channels the psychedelic nature of the project with an artificially colored lens, trippy effects and kaleidoscopic reworking.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

“Chaz Bear and I sought to create a vibrating immersive piece that mirrored the soft melancholic bounciness of the mixtape, making sure every delicate part was exactly how we envisioned,” explains Billingsley. “We wanted the video to feel like a sort of tour through internal rooms led by Chaz our tour guide, or soul guide if you will. With a handheld controller, grinning from ear to ear, Chaz navigates the turbulent internal atmosphere searching for each intangible floaty room buried within, each holding a different sound, feeling and sublime visual experience."

See the tracklist below and hit other streaming links here. Catch him on the rest of his Outer Peace tour and find the dates on his website.

1. 3-28-18b
2. 9-19-17_b_blackhole_hifi_v3
3. b_elijah_therapy_v2 (feat. Elijah Kessler)
4. 7-21-17_substitute_hifi_v3
5. tron_new_rose_hifi_v2 (feat. Old Grape God)
6. 5-11-15_outdated_hifi_v3
7. 1-27-17_intro_function_wifi_
8. zeiss_hifi_v2 (feat. Caleon Fox)
9. 4-2618_tonys_drewbanga_hifi
10. castaway_tron_hifi_v2 (feat. Old Grape God)
11. atherton_hifi
12. drip bounce _ 7_24_18

Related Content