Publish date:

Jeff Mills Announces Three CD Compilation, 'Sight, Sound And Space'

The themed compilation includes music from his past work and some unreleased tracks.
Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills has announced an expansive, three-part compilation for Axis Records this fall. Titled Sight, Sound & Space, it will continue his exploration of how music relates to the universe around us.

The compilation serves as a thematic best-of from his lengthy discography over the past few decades. The first CD, Sight, compiles music made for films or moving images. CD2, Sound, is a selection of tracks that “have a unique and specific type of sound to them,” which is super vague.

CD3, Space, dives into a theme that Mills has been focusing on over the past several years. It compiles music related to the grandeurs of space, space travel and alien life.

This matches his recently announced new LP Moon – The Of Influence, which is to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Moon Landing.

There will also be a 50-page booklet called And, where he explains the stories behind each track.

Check out the tracklist below with their accompanying original release (via Mixmag). The compilation will be released October 4, via Axis Records.

Recommended Articles

Sight, Sound & Space Tracklist:

CD1 Sight

1. Perfecture – taken from Metropolis CD
2. Deckard – taken from Blade Runner EP
3. Le Mer Et C’est Un Caractere - taken from Sequence CD
4. Homing Device – taken from 2087 CD album
5. The Never Ending Study – taken from Etudes Sur Paris album
6. The Drive Home - taken from Woman In The Moon
7. Parallelism In Fate - taken from And Then There Was Light film soundtrack
8. Devices taken from At First Sight CD
9. Transformation B (Rotwang’s Revenge) – taken from Metropolis CD album
10. Sleepy Time – taken from Trip To The Moon CD album
11. Multi-Dimensional – taken from Man From Tomorrow film soundtrack
12. Descending Eiffel Stairs – taken from The Crazy Ray film soundtrack

CD2 Sound

1. The Hunter - taken from Free Fall Galaxy Album.
2. The Bells
3. 4Art
4. The 25th Hour - unreleased
5. Growth
6. Spiral Galaxy
7. Microbe - taken from The Power CD
8. Jade - taken from Every Dog Has Its Day Vol. 2
9. Where The Shadows Have Motives – taken from the Rembrandt Experience soundtrack.
10. Flying Machines - taken from Sequence CD compilation
11. Compression-Release – taken from Emerging Crystal Universe
12. Into The Body – taken from Fantastic Voyage Soundtrack
13. The Resolution - taken from Actual 12” EP (2)
14. Spiral Therapy – taken from The Power CD

CD3 Space

1. Introduction – Phase 1-3 taken from Fantastic Voyage soundtrack
2. Mercury (Residue Mix) - Unreleased – taken from Planets CD
3. Unreleased002
4. Unreleased003
5. The Industry Of Dreams – taken from The Messenger CD
6. Stabilizing The Spin – taken from Moon: The Area Of Influence CD
7. G-Star
8. Planet X – taken from Lost In Space 12” EP
9. The Worker’s Party – taken from Gamma Player Compilation Niteroi collaboration project
10. Daphnis (Keeler’s Gap) – taken from "X-102 Re-discovers The Rings Of Saturn”
11. Outer Space – Unreleased
12. Unreleased005
13. Self-Portrait taken from One Man Spaceship CD
14. Aitken Basin – taken from The Messenger CD
15. Deadly Rays (Of A Hot White Sun) – taken from Where Light Ends CD
16. Medians – taken from Free Fall Galaxy album

Related Content