Publish date:

Floating Points Announces New Album 'Crush,' Drops Single "Last Bloom"

The new album will arrive in October via Ninja Tune.
Floating Points

Floating Points

At long last, Floating Points has announced this new album Crush. The new LP out in October on Ninja Tune follows his celebrated 2015 debut Elaenia. To go with the album, Sam Shepherd has also released a new single “Last Bloom” with an accompanying video.

Crush came together in only five weeks after Shepherd was inspired by opening for The xx on their world tour. In comparison, Elaenia took five years to write.

For “Last Bloom” and his upcoming shows, Floating Points teamed up with Hamill Industries, who brought their reactive laser technologies to his previous tours. The video captures the magic and beauty of nature, often in a psychedelic light. It was filmed over 30 days to capture a first bloom.

Recommended Articles

“Several scale models were built in order to explore these otherworldly landscapes, and a 5 axis robot arm was used to travel around them. Different lenses, including a macro probe lens, were used in order to reveal the complexity of these scale worlds,” explains Hamill Industries in a statement. “Most of the effects were achieved in-camera by using lasers, motion controls and computer controlled LED lighting. The timelapses seen throughout the film were shot in some cases over several days with the use of programmed rigs.”

Floating Points will include his lauded EP track “LesAlpx” in this album.

Crush will be released on October 18 via Ninja Tune. The LP can be pre-ordered here.

Crush tracklist:

1. Falaise
2. Last Bloom
3. Anasickmodular
4. Requiem for CS70 and Strings
5. Karakul
6. LesAlpx
7. Bias
8. Environments
9. Birth
10. Sea-Watch
11. Apoptose Pt1
12. Apoptose Pt2 

Related Content